Conservation Heritage Community

Champion Bowland

Forest of Bowland National Landscape


Discover Bowland

Image by Matthew SavageDiscover Bowland and explore 803 sq km of rural Lancashire (730 sq km) and Yorkshire (73 sq km). The Forest of Bowland was designated as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in 1964 and redesignated as a National Landscape in 2023. It provides some of the most peaceful and remote walking, riding and cycling in the country.  Explore some of the many unique villages steeped in history, while away your time observing some of the rare and enigmatic birds and wildlife, or simply indulge in sampling some of the very best local produce the area has to offer.  Visit




Festival Bowland

Festival Bowland is a year round calendar of events and is a fantastic way to learn more about this beautiful area.  It celebrates the birds, wildlife, landscape and culture of the Forest of Bowland National Landscape.  In the 2015 programme you'll have the chance to explore beautiful places, look for fantastic wildlife, find out about intriguing heritage, learn new skills and enjoy fun family events!  For further information visit Festival Bowland Events




 How is a National Landscape protected?

A National Landscape - previously known as an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) - is designated and protected under the 1949 National Parks and Access to Countryside Act. Its protection is further enhanced by the Countryside and Rights of Way Act, 2000 (CRoW2000).

Each National Landscape has been designated for special attention by reason of their high qualities. These include their flora, fauna, historical and cultural associations as well as scenic views. National Landscapes range from rugged coastline, dunes, salt marshes, peatlands, woodlands and estuaries to water meadows, gentle downland and upland moors.

The National Landscapes are a national asset containing a wide variety of attractive landscapes and like National Parks our National Landscapes are very much living and working landscapes that have been, and continue to be, shaped by nature and human activity.

National Landscapes are designated in recognition of their national importance and to ensure that their character and qualities are protected for all to enjoy.  Visit